Why Does Your Environment Matter?

“The Environment”
Boy is that a loaded phrase. If we are going to talk about “the environment” then we need to establish some basic (ironically, they’re actually extremely complex) ideas and understandings before we can advance in learning, together. So lets start by breaking it down and really look at why it’s important. I mean, saying humans are “destroying the planet” could mean a variety of things, too. So, what is really going on? Why should we do something about it?

We know it’s “important” (reference the Why Does Climate Change Matter tab). But for what reasons, really? Why should humans care about the extinction of other animals? Who gives a rats ass if bee populations are diminishing? The ice caps melting? Coral reefs shrinking? Burning fossil fuels? (For the record, I care about all of this). But really, why does that matter?

Lets take bees, for instance:

What does this mean to you? To me, it highlights the intricacies of life and life forms and just how interconnected we (humans, animals, and plants) are. In my mind, it instills a sense of urgency – an urgency in acting with the best interest of all life forms, not just humans.

But how far does this all extend? I have a great video to show just that – it highlights the predicted and unpredicted effects of reintroducing wolves into Yellowstone, and my-oh-my is it FASCINATING!

More connected than you knew, I know. We are wed to the welfare of the earths creatures, not just our brethren homo-sapiens. Crazy. Awesome. Terrifying?

Brings to mind my favorite spider-man quote, “With great power comes great responsibility” (Thanks, Uncle Ben).

You know what, though? I believe this. Whole-heartedly. Humans have enormous potential to create, destroy, harmonize, control, stabilize, neutralize, produce, or fashion (the list goes on and on) the natural world. We CAN help or hinder. We share a responsibility, great responsibility, when wielding this power.

And, personally, I’d like to responsibly use that power to create, regenerate, produce, and harmonize, not destroy.

Don’t you?

About tkvogelsang

I'm a people person. I enjoy pointed conversation and mature debate. I admire the great thinkers: those who uplifted reason, scholar, and secondary opinion. I was born and raised in Wichita, Kansas, but find i'm nothing like the people there. I'm liberal, but no Democrat; peaceful, but no pacifist; competitive, but no capitalist; ambitious, but no elitist; a "Buddhist Athiest" (someone who reads and strives to follow the Buddha's teachings, but avid skeptic) raised Christian; and many other dichotomies. In many ways, I'm surprised to be the product I am. I love the outdoors. I love gardening, admire sustainable creation and design, endorse creative thinking and problem solving, and strive to learn as much as I possibly can. I am in a constant search for more travel. Travel, to me, is of utmost importance. It opens the mind and heart. I have many mothers because of it. I have many families that have taken me in and treated me as their own child. It's experiences like these that are not discovered at home, and worth experiencing. Just do. Go. You'll like it.
This entry was posted in Environment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

