Charles Grassley and Joni Ernst at Graceland

Yesterday (Tuesday, March 31st) Senator Chuck Grassley came to Graceland’s campus. Today, Senator Joni Ernst will be speaking, too.

This is an opportunity to ask MY representatives questions about Climate Change and there positions (Grassley who says “no” and Ernst with “idk”) on the issues climate change presents, as Iowa and agriculture are and have been intimately intertwined.

It is important to get our representatives on board with our beliefs – the climate is changing, and humans are aiding in that change. THEY NEED TO KNOW THIS.

Speaking from observing Grassley yesterday, I can honestly say he met expectations: a senior senator, wise with his words, and excellent at blocking questions – that is, not answering. Frustrating.

Some students, professors, and community members asked some good questions, but he was better at avoiding and spinning. Not to mention their questions weren’t refined and pointed enough… they couldn’t get him.

Congrats, Grassley. You’re a “good” politician.

Ernst, on the other hand, is a freshman senator. She will be more vulnerable when she comes to speak at 2 pm, today, for her 1 hour Q&A session – of which I will be waiting.

My hope is to nail her down about the relationship between her campaign being financed by Charles and David Koch (along with their vast network) and her position of “having not seen proven proof” of climate change…. Not to mention “IDK” is a completely unsuitable response to this pressing issue. It can’t be this way.

Wish me a crafty mind.

Stay tune.

About tkvogelsang

I'm a people person. I enjoy pointed conversation and mature debate. I admire the great thinkers: those who uplifted reason, scholar, and secondary opinion. I was born and raised in Wichita, Kansas, but find i'm nothing like the people there. I'm liberal, but no Democrat; peaceful, but no pacifist; competitive, but no capitalist; ambitious, but no elitist; a "Buddhist Athiest" (someone who reads and strives to follow the Buddha's teachings, but avid skeptic) raised Christian; and many other dichotomies. In many ways, I'm surprised to be the product I am. I love the outdoors. I love gardening, admire sustainable creation and design, endorse creative thinking and problem solving, and strive to learn as much as I possibly can. I am in a constant search for more travel. Travel, to me, is of utmost importance. It opens the mind and heart. I have many mothers because of it. I have many families that have taken me in and treated me as their own child. It's experiences like these that are not discovered at home, and worth experiencing. Just do. Go. You'll like it.
This entry was posted in Activism and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

