The Failing Environmental Movement.

“Environmental Failure: A Case for a New Green Politics”

20131116-pusheurope-climate-justice01

Have you ever put much thought into what environmentalists have been doing? Where the Green Movement has been moving? Success? Failure?

Well, research “environmental movement” … it doesn’t exactly contain the fairytale ending so many might be hoping for… in fact, much worse than expected, too.

We quickly find out that, for lack of better words, scientists are freaking out.

Gives me anxiety…

Here’s an interesting interview/article outlining some of the issues we will face/have been facing:

It’s titled,
“James Gustave Speth talks with Yale e360 about building a new environmentalism”

This is the opening line is,

“The U.S. environmental movement is failing – by any measure, the state of the earth has never been more dire. What’s needed, a leading environmentalist writes, is a new, inclusive green politics that challenges basic assumptions about consumerism and unlimited growth.”

For full article, click here.

But what’s most interesting is the audio recording on the website. Listen to it. It’s powerful.

Speth walks the listener through the history of the environmental movement, his personal experiences leading the movement, expresses failures and successes, an objective look, etc….

His testimony is well heard. Climate change is more alarming than we thought.

How does this make you feel?
What do you think should be done?

Daunting… I know.

About tkvogelsang

I'm a people person. I enjoy pointed conversation and mature debate. I admire the great thinkers: those who uplifted reason, scholar, and secondary opinion. I was born and raised in Wichita, Kansas, but find i'm nothing like the people there. I'm liberal, but no Democrat; peaceful, but no pacifist; competitive, but no capitalist; ambitious, but no elitist; a "Buddhist Athiest" (someone who reads and strives to follow the Buddha's teachings, but avid skeptic) raised Christian; and many other dichotomies. In many ways, I'm surprised to be the product I am. I love the outdoors. I love gardening, admire sustainable creation and design, endorse creative thinking and problem solving, and strive to learn as much as I possibly can. I am in a constant search for more travel. Travel, to me, is of utmost importance. It opens the mind and heart. I have many mothers because of it. I have many families that have taken me in and treated me as their own child. It's experiences like these that are not discovered at home, and worth experiencing. Just do. Go. You'll like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

